The United States Department of Justice reports that approximately 20 percent of all homes will experience a break-in, which usually results in theft. New York reported more than 290,000 incidents of theft and larceny in 2010. If your home is the victim of a break-in and thieves take some of your possessions, notify the police and your insurer immediately. Your insurance provider will replace the items according to the coverage in your policy.
To ensure you receive compensation for all of your belongings, make a home inventory as a preventative measure in case of a future robbery. Keep a copy for yourself and give a copy to your insurer. Include serial numbers for your electronics, as well as as pictures of your valuables and copies of any appraisals you may have. Be sure to update your home inventory frequently, and adjust your home’s contents coverage accordingly.
Vehicle theft in New York is still prevalent, despite the common use of anti-theft devices. In 2010, for example, more than 20,000 vehicles were stolen. If your vehicle is stolen or the contents inside it are stolen, your insurer will only provide payment for those theft-related claims if you have comprehensive coverage on your auto policy. To make a claim, you must first report your vehicle missing and get a police report. Provide the report, along with a listing of your vehicle’s contents, to your auto insurer. If your insurance company accepts the claim, you will likely receive a check for your vehicle’s book value.
Residents of the state of New York who own and operate a motor vehicle are required by state law to register this vehicle with the New York Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). This law applies to all types of vehicles, including new and used cars, whether purchased from an individual or a dealer. Furthermore, new residents of the state who have their vehicle registered in another state are also required to renew the registration for the vehicle in New York as soon as they move to the state.
If it’s your first time registering your vehicle, you will only be able to register in person at the DMV. However, individuals who are renewing their registration can do so online, by mail or by telephone, in addition to the standard option of registering in person. New residents have up to 30 days after their arrival to officially register their motor vehicles.
For first-time registrations, vehicle owners must act upon the following:
- Provide proof of insurance. Note that your insurance must be from a New York auto insurance company. Auto insurance policies from any other state are invalid.
- Compile required paperwork. If your vehicle was purchased from a dealership, the dealer should have already sent the required paperwork to the DMV. If you did not purchase your vehicle from a dealership, you will be responsible for providing proof of ownership and Form MV-103 (only for vehicles purchased before December 1994).
- Complete an application for registration form.
- Provide proof of sales tax paid on the vehicle and proof that your vehicle meets the state-mandated emission standard.
- Have proof of identity on hand.
Registration fees will vary depending on a few different factors, including the weight of your vehicle and requirement of specialized license tags. Keep in mind that an initial registration fee will be a higher cost than a renewal. Registering a motorcycle has similar guidelines as those for registering a standard automobile; however, motorcycles are registered for one year only and all must be renewed on April 30th.