When you are cruising down the Pacific Coast Highway in your fancy new convertible, you better have California car insurance or you may have to face the consequences if you are involved in an accident or get pulled over by a police officer. In California, all drivers and vehicle owners are required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance.
Liability insurance covers bodily image or damage you may be responsible for in the event that you are involved in a motor vehicle accident. It does not cover you, but rather, the other party or parties involved in an accident that was determined to be your fault. California follows tort law, which assigns blame to one party or another for unintentional damage that they may cause as a result of their careless or negligent actions.
Like many other states, California requires a minimum amount of bodily injury and property damage liability coverage. The minimum is $15,000 for injury to a single party and $30,000 for all parties injured in a single accident. Property damage is set at a minimum of $5,000.
There are several other options for covering the state’s minimum financial requirements. You can place a $35,000 cash deposit with the DMV or obtain a surety bond for $35,000 from a licensed California insurance company. Fleet owners with at least 25 vehicles can choose to self-insure as long as they acquire a certificate of self-insurance from the DMV.
Now just because you can get away with minimum amounts of California auto insurance that does not mean that coverage is adequate. If you are involved in an accident in which you are found to have been at fault, any amount of damage above the minimum covered by insurance becomes your responsibility.
A new car can easily suffer $10,000 or more of damage and a serious physical injury to another person might result in a $100,000 or more of medical bills. To protect your assets, a prudent person would buy enough coverage for the worst possible scenario they can imagine.
Texas has a number of auto insurance laws of which drivers should be aware. The laws are in place for the protection of the people in case there is an accident. For those who are at fault, the law helps the responsible party pay for damages. For the not at-fault party, it allows them to collect in case the other person will not pay for the damages.
Is it required for drivers to have insurance in Texas?
Texas law states that drivers must carry at least the minimum liability limits of 25/50/25, which means $25,000 per person, $50,000 maximum, and $25,000 for property damage.
Is a driver supposed to carry proof of insurance with them in the car?
Yes, proof of insurance is to be carried in the vehicle at all times.
Are there penalties for not having insurance in the state of Texas?
There are penalties for not having insurance, such as fines or license suspension. Texas can levy fines of up to $1,000 for not having insurance. Along with license suspension, drivers can have their cars impounded until proof of insurance can be provided.
Can drivers be excluded from an auto policy?
Texas allows insurance companies to exclude certain drivers from auto policies. People with a suspended license are a good example of people who can be excluded. Excluded drivers are in no way covered by the limits of liability.
Who has to pay for an accident in the state of Texas?
In Texas, the person who is found to be at-fault in the accident is required by law to pay for all damages.
What is a tort state?
A tort state is a state in which a person is said to at-fault or not-at-fault in a motor vehicle accident. A no tort state is a state where the owner of the car is to fix their own car regardless of who is at-fault in an accident.
When any accident occurs in Ohio, victims will wait for the police presence on the spot to help them with their takes on police report. This report is very much mandate and is used for criminal charges or civil liability and for claims. However the latest budget passed over transportation and public safety by the Ohio General Assembly and being signed by the Governor limits the scenarios under which police is asked to file a report on vehicle accident.
Ohio’s Code Revised
Current Ohio Revised Code says that “Every law enforcement agency representing a township, county, municipal corporation, or other political subdivision investigating a motor vehicle accident involving a fatality, personal injury, or property damage in an amount greater than four hundred dollars shall, within five days, forward a written report of such accident to the director of public safety.” Property damage threshold has been raised to one thousand dollars by the amendment.
Any accident when occurs, takes two long hours for a policemen to verify the case and prepare a report on it. Hundreds and thousands of cases were lined up every year. With this new amendment, policemen will still work on those incidents, check for driver identity and issue of applicable commendations for traffic tickets or violations. But determination about who was found guilty will no longer be made, if the accident does not result in a fatality, sufficient damage, or a personal injury.
Aftermath of Budget
With such governed rules, insurance agents will certainly face an increased burden in determining fault, aftermath of an accident. But this reduction is budget-driven and made for public safety. These services will have a high impact on drivers who are victims of an uninsured motorist undoubtedly or will end up filing an insurance claim under bad faith against an insurer which fails to follow its obligations.
When an Ohioan meets with an accident, will face a difficulty in obtaining a police report unless threshold is above $1000. Here the drivers themselves have to take more initiative towards filing out some report and judging the situation which drives individual liability and help in claims.