As a parent, your peaceful mind would take a toll when your teen gets on to the driving seat and drives off all by themselves for the first time ever. Such occasions causes stress on any parent. Your stress can find a relief only when your teen has rode a vehicle good number of times or attended a driving class. Finding a good driving class is also a task which is not easy as it’s the basic foundation for any learner, specially when he or she is a teen.
Here is a resource which can help you to find a better driving school. The Better Business Bureau, on entering the name of the driving school you opted for, you can find all the negative feed backs or complaints if any against the school. This makes your search easy and efficient. You can also check for the list of driving schools licensed under your state department of motor vehicles, which can be an added advantage as those schools meet with the state’s requirements. Every state has defined set of rules which a driving school has to abide, say, conduct a minimum of 25 hours of class room session, provide internet training to the teens and also a minimum of 5 hrs of training on roads behind the wheels.
On Completion of Search
Once you have chosen a driving school, contact them and ask few questions to clarify your doubts. Visit their school to have a look at it and know how the training will be conducted. On visit, check for the books, guides and other training materials provided by the driving school to your teens. Also check if the materials are as per the AAA standards. Take a look at the vehicle which will be used to train your teen, the make and model, safety features and year built. You can also ask for a test drive to ensure the quality of the program.
Before you are asked to sign on the dotted line, check for price, if any additional charges are implicable. Understand the policy’s terms and conditions and also make sure that you check how the policy works if your teen had to miss a class or training program. Remember, all this effort will fetch benefits while obtaining a car insurance policy by giving you discounts on factors such as teen’s driving course and good grades.
When you are cruising down the Pacific Coast Highway in your fancy new convertible, you better have California car insurance or you may have to face the consequences if you are involved in an accident or get pulled over by a police officer. In California, all drivers and vehicle owners are required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance.
Liability insurance covers bodily image or damage you may be responsible for in the event that you are involved in a motor vehicle accident. It does not cover you, but rather, the other party or parties involved in an accident that was determined to be your fault. California follows tort law, which assigns blame to one party or another for unintentional damage that they may cause as a result of their careless or negligent actions.
Like many other states, California requires a minimum amount of bodily injury and property damage liability coverage. The minimum is $15,000 for injury to a single party and $30,000 for all parties injured in a single accident. Property damage is set at a minimum of $5,000.
There are several other options for covering the state’s minimum financial requirements. You can place a $35,000 cash deposit with the DMV or obtain a surety bond for $35,000 from a licensed California insurance company. Fleet owners with at least 25 vehicles can choose to self-insure as long as they acquire a certificate of self-insurance from the DMV.
Now just because you can get away with minimum amounts of California auto insurance that does not mean that coverage is adequate. If you are involved in an accident in which you are found to have been at fault, any amount of damage above the minimum covered by insurance becomes your responsibility.
A new car can easily suffer $10,000 or more of damage and a serious physical injury to another person might result in a $100,000 or more of medical bills. To protect your assets, a prudent person would buy enough coverage for the worst possible scenario they can imagine.
When you start shopping around for car and home insurance in Texas, your agent is going to want you to spend as much as possible for these policies. Asking the right questions may not only save you money, but will also help you make the right decision as to which type of coverage is best for you.
1. What does your “bare minimum” policy cover?
Ask the agent to show you this first, rather than the highest-priced one. You simply may not need all the “bells and whistles” that come with more expensive policies.
2. What discounts am I entitled to?
The agent will probably give you a few examples of the discounts the company offers, but push him for more.
3. I already have an auto insurance policy with you. Am I getting all the discounts I’m entitled to on my current policy? If not, can I get them now?
It’s a good idea to re-examine your policy every few years. Things change, and some of these changes may mean you’re entitled to more discounts than you were before.
4. If I get both home and auto insurance with your company, will my premiums be cheaper?
Chances are the answer to this question will be “yes”.
5. Will you honor (insert competitor insurance company’s name here) discounts and differences in coverage amounts?
This is where comparison-shopping can come in handy. Find out what discounts other insurance companies offer and ask him if he’ll honor these. Also, get their price quote in writing. Faced with the actual figures and information, the agent may be willing to negotiate.
With auto insurance rates seemingly always on the rise it can be beneficial to consider purchasing vehicles with lower monthly premiums. In Texas having car insurance is not only necessary to protect your vehicle it is also required by law. Choosing a car that has a high safety rating, low repair costs, and is less likely to be stolen can significantly reduce auto insurance rates. Here are a few vehicles that will keep insurance costs at a minimum while providing a great driving experience.
1. Jeep Wrangler – This all purpose vehicle has a high safety rating and low repair costs
2. Ford Escape – A smaller SUV, has a relatively low price and strong safety rating
3. Mercury Grand Marquis – A five-star safety rating leads to higher safety rating
4. Ford Ranger – This pick-up is one of the cheapest on the market and has a low theft rate
5. Chevrolet Equinox – The SUV/Mini-van hybrid has accident avoidance features and high crash rating scores
These vehicles all carry relatively inexpensive auto insurance premiums. Texas drivers looking to reduce their car insurance payments would be wise to look into vehicles that provide function over flash. Instead of going for a brand new, high-end convertible try finding a pre-owned SUV that comes with a strong safety rating. By picking a safe and inexpensive vehicle drivers can cut down on auto insurance costs and spend their hard-earned money on more entertaining options.