Liability provides protection to you or anyone driving your car with your concern. When any claim is made against you by a third person labeling you to be responsible for the accident caused, this coverage will make payments to him on your behalf, if found that your vehicle is involved and resulted in injury or damaged any of the property of the third person. In addition, it will also provide legal support and will defend you when a law suit is filed. Hence do not reduce limits on your liability coverage.
Minimum limits mandated on bodily injury liability coverage for third-party by Pennsylvania’s Vehicle and Traffic Law are:
- bodily injury of $15,000 for each person or $30,000 for causing death due to any injuries, sustained in an accident by one person
- bodily injury of $30,000 for two or more in one accident or $60,000 resulting in death of two or more persons due to injuries from one accident.
State law also requires a minimum of $5,000 for any damage caused to vehicle or it’s parts or any damage to the property during an accident. Thus the minimum liability limits in Pennsylvania is referred to “15/30/5” or “$15,000/$30,000/$5,000”.
For any bodily injury or property damage caused during an accident, if it is due to other driver’s negligence then you can claim under the other driver’s car insurance policy, where the automobile insurance policy provides coverage for each person involved in the accident and hence a liability coverage. However, when an injured person in your vehicle is your spouse unlike the purchase made, you need to opt for Supplemental Spousal Liability Insurance. Remember, your wife is still eligible for No-Fault as discussed above. Hence, it becomes necessary to check with your insurer or the insurance agent much before buying a car insurance policy.
No-Fault, also called Personal Injury Protection (PIP), pays for the losses up to $50,000 to individual person who is injured in an accident, be it a pedestrian, passenger or the driver. The purpose of Wyoming’s No Fault law is purely to restore health, assets and productivity, though slowly yet steadily for every individual who are hurt in an auto accident. It also ensures that economic losses are met and not exceeding the law’s benefits.
No-Fault is a coverage mainly to cover personal injury and not to pay for any car repair or damage to parts of vehicles or any personal property. No-Fault pays first for injuries when an accident occurs hence standing much before a health insurance.
Any basic No-Fault car insurance coverage includes:
- Necessary and reasonable rehabilitation and medical charges related to an accident.
- 80% of earnings which you have lost from work, pays up to $2,000 per month for 3 years, count starts from accident date; it also offers disability benefits on statutory offsets for Wyoming Worker’s Compensation, State disability, and Federal Social Security.
- Pays up to $25 per day, from accident date up to an year, to reimburse necessary and other reasonable expenses resulted from an auto accident.
- Death benefit of $2,000 payable to eligible person’s beneficiary who was killed in the accident.
However, a person will not be eligible under few car insurance policies for No-Fault benefits. If,
- DUI comes into picture i.e. a driver is under intoxication and accident occurs.
- Causing injuries intentionally.
- A felony committed and is injured.
- Injured when in a stolen vehicle.
- An uninsured vehicle is owned by you.
Texas bodily injury liability coverage can be a confusing topic. If you have recently been involved in an accident, you may have questions about what bodily injury liability involves. After the shock of the crash, your next thoughts may be “How am I going to pay for this?” Here are the answers to some frequently asked questions about bodily injury coverage.
What is Texas bodily injury liability?
Basically, this service is included in your car insurance and will cover the medical expenses if you injury someone in an auto accident.
How much auto insurance for liability do I need in Texas?
You will need $25,000 worth of coverage for one person and at least $50,000 per accident.
Do I have to carry bodily injury liability coverage?
Yes. In the state of Texas it is mandatory to carry the minimum amount of insurance if you drive a vehicle on the roadways.
What happens if I am in a car accident and I do not have bodily injury insurance?
The first and second violation will result in a fine. If you have a third offense you will probably be fined and your license will be suspended.
If I have been injured in an accident, how long do I have to file a bodily injury liability claim?
The statute of limitations in the state of Texas states that the time limit to file a claim is 2 years.
If I am in an auto accident and someone in the other car is injured, will my Texas bodily injury liability coverage take care of the expenses?
Yes. Your insurance will pay up to your policy limits for one person or the limit for the entire accident.