Steps to Take After an Automobile Accident Occurs

When an accident occurs, it is scary and can cause you to be very disoriented. Even though it may seem almost impossible to focus in the minutes immediately after the impact, you can do so if you work very hard to stay calm and follow some simple guidelines. These automobile accident steps will help you to know what to do when an accident occurs. We have kept it simple so that you can remember these automobile accident steps even in time of crisis.

First: Call For Help

The first thing that you need to do is call for help. Don’t try to move your vehicle, or make any changes to the scene of the accident, but rather place your safety needs and the safety needs of others first. Call 911 and report the accident. The dispatcher will send police officers as well as an ambulance that can help transport any injured parties to the hospital.

Next: Watch Your Words

Use good judgment when it comes to speaking about the accident. Do not speak to the other party in the accident, and never admit guilt even if you think you may have been responsible. That is up to the police and insurance company to determine and these situations are rarely black and white. Discuss the accident only with the police officers responding to the accident scene, and simply tell them your impression of how the accident occurred. During their initial interview post-accident the police will ask for your insurance information, so be sure that you provide them with this.

Finally: Call Your Agent

Call your insurance agent as soon as you possibly can. Tell your agent that you were in an auto accident and give them all the information they will need to get started on your case. Your agent will ask for information on the police report, so have that with you when you call.

Use these smart tips to make sure that you are protected after the accident. Your agent is your partner here, and will help you to deal with this difficult situation as efficiently as quickly as possible.

Liability Insurance — What You Don’t Know Can Cost You

Liability Insurance is A MustCalifornia law requires all drivers and vehicle owners to carry liability insurance, but it does not require you to have enough liability insurance to truly protect you in the event of a serious accident. The state mandated minimum coverage is just 15/30/5 which means $15,000 for bodily injury to a single individual, $30,000 for all individuals hurt in a single accident and $5,000 to cover any property damage you may have caused.

If you own a home, you probably have California homeowners insurance and a portion of your premium goes for liability coverage. Do you know how much liability coverage you have? Do you know how much liability coverage you need?

California Tort Law Holds You Personally Liable

Any claims beyond the limits of your insurance coverage may result in an attempt to claim the difference by the injured party. To protect yourself from being personally liable, you should carry enough liability insurance.

What is the Right Amount of Liability Insurance?

The right amount of liability insurance you should carry depends largely on your net worth and how averse you are to risk. If you have a million dollar house and other substantial assets, you would probably carry enough liability coverage so those assets are not put at risk in the event that you are found liable for injury or damage to another party.

What Happens if I Get Sued?

If you are involved in an automobile accident and found to be at fault, your insurance will protect you up to the limits of your policy. Your insurance company will also assist you in the event that the damaged party decides to sue you. Legal defense in any type of liability case can be very expensive. Insurance can cover those costs. Even if you are completely innocent, you may still need to hire an attorney and spend thousands in fees just to clear your name. No matter how careful you are, you should always carry adequate liability insurance – just in case.