California Car Insurance Requirements

In California, it is required that every driver has the statutory minimum liability insurance. There are several required features you must have on your insurance policy. In order to make sure you are following the state requirements, California insurance companies will make sure you are following the law when you purchase your insurance policy.

In order to make sure you are following the laws, you can find the state minimum requirements below.

Bodily Injury Minimum Requirements for California Automobile Insurance:

  • $15,000 injury or death coverage for any person in an accident
  • $30,000 for all people in an accident
  • Property Minimum Requirements for California Auto Insurance:
  • $5,000 for any accident

In order to comply with these requirements, you must purchase an automobile limited liability insurance policy, put a cash deposit down with the DMV, have a certificate of insurance by the DMV for fleet insurace of 25 vehicles or more, or you must have a surety bond for at least $35,000 from an insurance company.

Many new vehicle owners are required to have full coverage by their financial institution until the loan is paid off; it is important to check with your financial institution to ensure that you are purchasing the right amount of insurance for your vehicle. In order to find the best insurance policy, you can search for California automobile insurance online and find several companies that offer great rates on the state minimum required insurance. You can also find many discounts for being married, being over the age of 25, a good credit rating, and a safe vehicle.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *